RSS

Arriving in Kathmandu

04 Mar

Namaste mero Sati (Nepali for Hello my friends),

So this is the first time I am writing a blog. I have thought of doing so for quite a while now but never thought I would keep it up.

Now is my chance, beginning an adventure of four months in a  country I have never been to. Living and volunteering in Nepal.

Truthfully it is going to be much more complicated than I thought. There are very few hours in the day with electricity and the house I live in does not have fast working computers. The ones that do work are shared by 19 people so it is hard to find the time to write. I will do my best to keep you updated as much as possible. I would also appreciate all your comments!

It all began about two weeks ago when I arrived in Katmandu after 3 flights through Kiev and New Delhi. Landing was surreal, a small brick extremely old-fashioned airport. I took a taxi with a couple of Israelis straight to the Beit Chabad. It was funny that everyone around the Thamel (the tourist part of the city) knew exactly where the Beit Chabad is. The Beit Chabad felt like an island of serenity in a city of garbage, beeping and thousands of people. I felt right at home there. 

The next morning I decided to leave on a 4 day trek with an acquaintance who had just finished the Tevel Betzedek ( TBT) program. I hope to write about the trek in Langtang national park in a future post. I arrived back in the city just in time to start the adventure of a life time, the TBT volunteer program with 19 fellow young adults beginning with a month of orientation in Katmandu.

I wanted to share with you the first few days of the program, what life is like here, about Nepali culture and more. I hope to do so in future posts.

Shabat is getting close and I still need to make food, pick up my laundry etc.

For now I love and miss you all! please keep in touch!!

Love,

Harkamia– my new Nepali name which literally means Happy Love

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Arriving in Kathmandu

  1. נטע דוד

    March 4, 2011 at 17:00

    וווואי אביגיל מסרי ד”ש לחזקי מבית חב”ד.. אני מקווה שהוא זוכר אותי מהסדנת יהדות שעשיתי שם לפני שנתיים… ותהני המון בובה זה אמור להיות באמת חוויה מדהימה.. אני אעקוב בדריכות!

     
  2. mntreiger

    March 6, 2011 at 20:57

    You seem to be counting Eugene?

     
  3. Rachel Singer

    March 7, 2011 at 09:52

    So glad to see you got your blog off the ground! I’m a fan!!
    I’ll be reading it closely!

     
  4. avigayilh

    March 7, 2011 at 16:31

    Eugene will always be in our hearts and souls here at TBT!

     
  5. Carol--Nana

    March 20, 2011 at 15:23

    Hi Avigail,

    I responded to your blog. Did you get it? I’ve seen this one.
    Is there another? I think of you often and miss you so much!
    Hope to hear another blog or that you write to me directly.

    Love,
    Nana

     

Leave a comment