RSS

Keeping up the blog

01 Apr

Hi friends,

Sorry I have not written in a while. I now live in Sundrawoti, a far away village, 8 hours from Kathmandu. I can only go online once a week, in Charikot, an hour away from the village.

I wrote lots of events to blog about but the file will not load unto this computer.

I just wanted to let you know that I am very happy in Sundrawoti, with local village life. We have been working on developing a small kitchen garden where we will grow tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce, green onion and cilantro. Yesterday we began building a bamboo fence for the garden so that the chickens and goats do not eat our produce.

I live in a small home-made of mud on a hard wood bed with a thin mattress made of hay. I have been waking up with bites all over my body which makes me believe I have bed bugs. Not fun but hopefully solvable.

We are starting our real work with the villagers next week. I am going to be working with the women’s group, working on sanitation education, learing to sew, arts and crafts and agriculture training. I will also work with extra crics. at the local school and with the local child club. I also have a young girl group once a week where we will discuss being a women in Nepal, sexual education and more.

We also work on a model farm a few mornings a week where we grow seasonal vegetables and where the local youth work as well.

It is fun roaming around the village with the beautiful terraces where wheat is growing and buffalo are roaming around.

I hope I will get a chance to write more soon…..

Love and miss you all!

Shabbat Shalom from Sundrawoti

Harka Maya Tami

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Keeping up the blog

  1. Rachel Singer

    April 1, 2011 at 13:23

    Thanks for the descriptive update ! I want to see pictures. Hope your bedbugs move out asap!

     

Leave a Reply

 
